Hairspray

Oh, the wonderful smell of hairspray! Tonight Kristin did a hair workshop for the lovely ladies in the cast and she used me as her guinea pig (this metaphor would make more sense if guinea pigs had longer hair, but you get it). My hair has been slowly deflating and now it looks like a poof ball and smells like flowers, waterfalls, Christmas trees, sunsets…and yeah, it mainly just smells like chemicals. But the familiar smell of hairspray, however unnatural it may be, always gets me in the mood for a show. I think the hairspray actually helps me act because the scent is so very different from anything that I experience as Rose. It’s just a little thing that helps me get out of my own head and really dive into a different character. And of course, it also keeps my hair in place- or at least tries to!

Rehearsals have just begun, but I already feel very connected with a lot of people in the cast. I’m particularly excited about working with Elena (my lovely sister, Jane) because I think our characters balance each other out nicely. As an actress, Elena is a very good listener and as a character, Jane is very sensitive and perceptive. During our initial read through of the script, when Elena read her very first line out loud, Barnaby (Darcy) and I exchanged glances that said, “Oh my god, this girl is Jane.” Really, Elena is perfect for the role and I’m looking forward to developing our friendship, on and off stage!

Many more rehearsals to come! Hallie certainly didn’t hold back from giving me lines, so I need to start memorizing those soon. I also want to re-read the book and re-watch the BBC version of the movie. Good times ahead, I’m sure!

— Rose Oser (Elizabeth Bennet)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under From the Cast, Rose Oser

Leave a comment